Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Setting up Pings Monitoring w/ Min, Max, and Avg
:?:
Hi

I'm new to Pandora FMS and OpenSource in general. I have set up a Linux Ubuntu v7.04 server and I have followed all the steps in the Pandora Server and Console installation documentation. I was successfull and I can now access the pandora web console from any PC in my newtwork. However, setting up the agents, modules, etc it's a bit confusing to me. I want to set up PandoraFMS to ping various hosts in my network and report the Min, Max, and Avg along with a graph showning the Average response time per hour for a 24 hour period. Also, would like to set up Bandwith utilization graphs as well. Can anybody point me in the right direction?

Thank you.
Hi,

Pandora can monitor anything with in local with a agent in the device to monitor or remotely with the network server.

You can monitor a ping to device or bandwith utilization.

First you must add a new agent in Administration>Manage Agent.

You can access to the new agent in Operation> view agent> Agente detail For example.

You can access to configure the agent in Administration> Manage config. Click in agent. In Modules Tab you can configure the ping and bandwith utilization wit snmp query.

Regards in advance.
Hi.

It is difficult from a forum to setup your console.
The best suggestion I can give you is to read the basic setup from the documentation and to try some tests. When you will find problems ask here and it will be answered. :wink:
By the way, take care of what villa has said. Every device can be reached via SNMP (both servers and networking). Theorically agents are not indispensable. By the way, giving to the server the possibility to monitor himself and communicate with Pandora is a way to avoid Pandora to calculate a big amount of data. Networking devices can be monitored only by the "Network server agent" implemented in Pandora.

See you soon in this forum!